IRS Selects New ETAAC Members

The Electronic Tax Administration Advisory Committee (ETAAC) is a 13-member panel that consults with and reports to the IRS on electronic tax administration issues. Their goal: increasing electronic interactions between tax professionals and the IRS. Past panels have consisted of professionals in the banking, technology, tax law, accounting, and tax preparation industries.

Introducing the new members:

  1. Timothy Blevins: big shot at CGI, a global business process services firm
  2. Cyrus Daftary: attorney at Burt, Staples & Maner, a Washington D.C. taxation law firm
  3. Yasmine Nolan: big shot at H&R Block
  4. Timur Taluy: CEO of
  5. Mark Steber: big shot at Jackson-Hewitt (selected as ETAAC Chairman for 2011-2012)

If you’re a big shot and feel you were overlooked, maybe you deserve a spot on this committee. It is too late this time around, but feel free to review the membership application for future reference. Applications are accepted each February. This is a volunteer 3-year position with a 150-hour time commitment. And they’re just looking for experience in a few key areas:

  • public policy development
  • formulating, developing, and presenting proposals for ETAAC consideration
  • e-file security experience
  • tax software experience
  • accuracy-related experience